U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


Dillan White Travels From Kentucky to Score Big At Highland

Harrison, Martintoni, Rob Eilers, and The Isaaks All Win

HIGHLAND IL (August 13, 2011)  Summertime at the race track has memories for all of us, especially when you’re part of the Highland Speedway JR Fan Club. This past Saturday night Dippin Dots and a long list of sponsors hosted the JR Fan Club night making memories for another generation of race fans. Not only did thealt young race fans receive a large “goodie” bag, at the intermission over $400 in coins were spread on the front straight of the Speedway and the race was on who could pick up the most change.

Also on the nights racing events were the Scott Wernle Memorial, Scott himself a father and supporter of racing lost his life in a farming accident and this is the second year of honoring his memory.



Becker Jewelers Late Models:

altAaron Kleine and Dillon White of Crofton, Kentucky captured heat wins and Paul Bailey held off White for the Dash win. Sitting alongside of Bailey on the front row of the night cap, the driver from Kentucky would work his way to the lead early in the feature and never looked back on his way to the win, Chad Zobrist, Rick Salter, Frankie Martin, and Paul Bailey rounded out the top five.







Steve Schmitt Modifieds:

Darrell Hewlett of Breese was on fire in the Steve Schmitt Modifieds enjoying his best night since returning to racing. The former Street Stock Champion won his heat in convincing fashion. Other heat winners were the 24h of Mike Harrison and the E55 of the “Racing Realtor” Chad Sellers. In the dash redraw Hewlett grabbed the number one pill and started on the pole alongside the 15 of former Modified Champion Chris Smith. In one the best dash races of the season Hewlett held off a hard charging Mike Harrison who started “shotgun” on the field.alt

While the 75 of Hewlett was having a great night having a former UMP and defending track Champion like Mike Harrison starting alongside you is challenging. Hewlett gave a great effort but the 24H of Harrison was too much for the entire Highland field of drivers and scored his 19th overall feature win of the season. Dean Hoffman finished second, Darrell Hewlett finished in third, Chris Smith and Chad Sellers were the top five.




Scott Wernle Memorial Sportsmen:

Oberbeck Grain in Highland added bonus money for the hard charger award which went to Steve Stevenson. The Wernle family added bonus money for the race which honored Scott for the second year. A full field of Sportsmen drivers from around the region filled the pits.

Robbie Eilers in the 3E and Jon Ripperda in the 911 were heat winners. The 25 lap feature was won by Eilers with Ripperda, Nathan Schmitt, Ryan Eilers and Russell Eilers were the top five in the Scott Wernle Memorial for the Sportsmen.alt








UMP Pro Late Models:

Bobby Martintoni and Mark Oller captured the heat wins in the Pro Late Model division.

altThe Feature looked to be a battle of two former track Champions but a flat rear tire put Oller on the trailer for the night and Rick Salter in the USA 1 in position to put pressure on the cagey veteran. Martintoni wasn’t intimidated and held on for the win, Salter was second John Cory, Jason Zobrist, and the 9STAR of Jordan Bauer were the top five.







Factory Stock:

Austin Isaak was the champ in the Factory Stock’s, Steve Steele, T J Eilers, Tim Haeffner, and Michael Ripperda, Jr were second through fifth respectfully.alt








Sport Compacts:

Trevor Isaak led the Sport Compacts to the checked flag, Bobby Funderburk, Chad Burgess , Robert Shaw and Jordan Suhre were the next five to finish.alt


Upcoming Events:

Next Saturday August 20th it’s the second part of the 50th Anniversary Celebration at the Highland Speedway. The night will feature drivers from yesteryear returning to the Speedway. Also on the card, the Gate Way Vintage Racing Club will bring the nostalgic racers to compete on the famed Highland quarter mile.

The biggest addition to the race card that night will be the restarts in all divisions. The “Delaware” style restarts will be used. This is where instead of the cars being realigned after a yellow flag single file, the leaded will be out front, the second place driver can choose if he would like to line up high or low on the restart the third place car will be opposite alongside the second place car. The balance of the field will restart side by side. According to promoter Scott Kuhn “ restarting the races this way keeps from stretching the filed out into a “freight train” keeping the competition exciting for the fans and challenging for the drivers.” Kuhn continued “The fans asked for the Dash’s and we brought them back and they (the Fans”) love it. They have asked we try the “Delaware Restarts” and what better night to bring a bit of nostalgia back by doing this”

Thursday,  August 25 - MARS  vs.  UMP DirtCar Late Models     Presented by Kettle River Furniture with Great Giveaways  Featuring Becker Jewelers Late Models, Steve Schmitt Modifieds & Factory Stocks (UMP Sport Compacts)

For more information about the Highland Speedway visit the website at highlandspeedway.com on face book at facebook/highlandspeedway and by joining the tracks text messaging system by texting highland to 91011.

(Photo Credit – Photo Billy)

Top Finishers for August 13, 2011

UMP Becker Jewelers Late Models

1 54 Dillan White

2 78 Chad Zobrist

3 1S Rick Salter

4 25 Frankie Martin

5 81 Paul Bailey

6 11K Shannon Kuhn

7 22 Dan Jacober

8 12T Dave Thornton

9 16H Mike Hammerle

10 27S Mike Schulte

UMP Steve Schmitt Modified

1 24H Mike Harrison

2 1D Dean Hoffman

3 75 Darrell Hewlett

4 15 Chris Smith

5 E55 Chad Sellers

6 25 Brett Korves

7 42 Steve Lach

8 84 Tyler Deibert

9 751 Jimmy Cummins

10 24J Jacob Steinkoenig

UMP Pro Late Model

1 48 Bobby Martintoni

2 USA1 Rick Salter

3 20 John Cory

4 87 Jason Zobrist

5 9STAR Jordan Bauer

6 96 Matt Koch

7 CRCL7 Andy Casper

8 N59 Chad Evans

9 42 John Lansford

10 9T Travis Horner

UMP Sportsman Scott Wernle Memorial

1 3E Robbie Eilers

2 9-11 Jon Ripperda

3 19S Nathan Schmitt

4 3 Ryan Eilers

5 8E Russell Eilers

6 1S Steve Stevenson

7 88 Rob Lee

8 88S Scott Drew

9 7 Dennis Ponder

10 23 Dennis Wernle

UMP Factory Stock

1 6I Austin Isaak

2 379 Steve Steele

3 8T T J Eilers

4 0 Tim Haeffner

5 15 Michael Ripperda, Jr

UMP Sport Compact

1 9X Trevor Isaak

2 97 Bobby Funderburk

3 77 Chad Burgess

4 18R Robert Shaw

5 26 Jordan Suhre

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.