U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


Hotdogs Score Big At Fan Appreation Night

Hotdogs Score Big At Highland’s Fan Appreciation Night



(6-26-10) Highland IL-With $1.00 hotdogs on the grill, it was the Helvetia Sharpshooters Fan Appreciation Night at the Highland Speedway. Summer time is here and the weather was as hot as the action on the track.


The Highland Speedway is the only track in Southern Illinois that race races Super Late Models on Saturday nights and the fans at Highland love their late models.


Mark Faust, had a strong showing early in the UMP Summer Nationals race held the previous Tuesday evening at the Speedway, (but had to drop out due to a flat), proved tonight why he was a multi track champion and former UMP National Champion. After winning his heat race Faust started out side the front row along side the “Trenton Tornado” Michael Kloos.


Faust jumped out to a blistering pace but only completed one lap before a five car pileup in turn three sent the 22 of Dan Jacober and the 20 of Jon Cory to the pits for the evening. In single file restart formation Faust led the field to the starting line but it took three tries before flagman Dan Dondaro was happy with a restart. This just added more fuel to the fire of the driver of the number 51, Faust Automotive sponsored car, as Faust moved into a completely different zip code leading Kloos in the 6K, the 78 of last Saturday’s winner Chad Zobrist, the 30 of Mark Voigt and the 25 of “Fast” Frankie Martin.


At lap six, with Faust still on the move, Zobrist moved past Kloos to take over second, with Voigt and Martin in tow. A caution with 2 laps to go set up a green, white, checker allowing Zobrist a chance to see the tail end of the 51. At the drop of the green flag Mark Faust again checked out and captured his second feature win of the 2010 season, Zobrist, Kloos, Voigt, and Martin rounded out the top five.


UMP Steve Schmitt Modifieds

What looked like a runaway for Chris Smith in the 155 came to a halt after a caution on lap nine brought the field together. That was all Brian Bielong in the 73 needed as four laps later he got around the 155 of Smith. A late race caution had no affect on Bielong as he made it to victory lane for the second time this season. Smith followed in second, Jim Werner in the 44, Dean Hoffmann in the 24-1D and Brett “the Kid” Korves in the 25 were the top five finishers.


Sportsmen, Street Stock and Factory Stock

Russell Eilers made the best of the Sportsmen field with his sixth win of the 2010 season. The 23B Mark Bohnenstiehl was first runner up, outside front row sitter the 88 of Rob Lee came to the stripe third. “The Saw” Jimmy Cummins was next and Russell’s brother Ryan Eilers was fifth.


The Street Stocks had a rough time getting their race started but they eventually they got things going, Jake Hewitt come out on top in a race called for time.  T J Eilers, Brad Venhaus, Brian Crawford, and Dennis Ponder were the top five cars


In another close and exciting race the Factory stocks saw Justin Suhre take home the trophy. Jordan Suhre, Kyle McMahon, Jacob Rexing, and Trevor Isaak finished second through fifth.


Highland Notes: No racing next weekend July 3rd.  Everyone at the Highland Speedway wishes you a safe and Happy Fourth of July weekend.


Saturday, July 10, When we return to racing, besides the UMP Late Models, Modifieds, Sportsmen, Street Stocks, and Factory Stocks, there will be Vintage Race Cars and the famous 70’s Night ($200 for best 70’s costume)

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.