U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


May 1, 2010 News Article

After getting rained out the last weekend in April, Highland Speedway was fortunate to be able to race on Saturday, May 1st. The evening was sponsored by Daum Crop Insurance. A total of 127 cars showed up to race. There were 30 UMP Late Models. Taking the first checkered flag of the evening was Mark Faust who won the first heat over Bryan Collins, Mike Hammerlee, and John Cory.  Second heat saw Rick Standridge lead Craig Smith, Michael Kloos, and Dan Jacober. Third heat went to Mike Schulte, then Chad Zobrist, Paul Bailey, and Michael Jacober. Fourth heat saw Mark Voigt beat out Matt Weidner, Frankie Martin, and Dave Thornton. Order of finish in the consi was Brian Wolfmeier, Dewayne Kiefer, Justin Ketrow, John Beck, Steve Leach, Dick Taylor, Jim Moon, Brandon Hogenson, Brant Kehrer, Justin Vosholler, Scott Weber, Todd Bourland, Mike Harris and Rodney Standerfer DNS. In the Feature, for the second time this season, it was the Highland Bulldog – Chad Zobrist who crossed the finish line first. He was chased by Faust, Collins, Smith, Schulte, Voigt, Dan Jacober, Martin, Kloos, Hammerlee, Standridge, Bailey, Dave Thornton, Wolfmeier, John Cory, Michael Jacober, Weidner, Beck, Kiefer, and Ketrow.

There were 23 UMP Steve Schmitt Modifieds. It was Mike Harrison who brought his broom along to the track. First heat went to Tim Hancock, then Chad Sellers, Ron Hartnagel, and Steven Ellison. Second heat saw Jim Werner, Jr lead Brett Korves, Trista Stevenson, and Eric Goetter. Harrison took the third heat over Brian Bielong, Steve Lach, and Craig Kern. For the third time this season, Mike Harrison, crossed the finish line first in the Feature. Finish order after Harrison was Hancock, Bielong, Korves, Werner, Jr, Sellers, Ellison, Lach, Chris Smith, Hartnagel, Randy Dickman, Eric Faust, Jim Black, Adam Pate, Stevenson, Kern, Goetter, Jeremy Thole, Dean Hoffman, Travis Koehler, Khris Fohne DNS, Andy Oswald DNS, and Dennis Hornbostel DNS.

UMP Sportsman division had 27 cars. It was the Saw – Jimmy Cummins who swept the division. First heat win went to Rick Johnson then Ryan Eilers, Nathan Schmitt, and Danny Beard. Second heat belonged to Jimmy Cummins who led Jeff Herzog, Russell Eilers, and Tom Smallwood. Third heat top dog was Steve Stevenson. He was chased by Rob Lee, Aaron Melton, and Jon Ripperda.  Third time this season, it was Jimmy Cummins across the finish line first in the Feature. Behind him were Herzog, Ryan Eilers, Lee, Steve Stevenson, Johnson, Russell Eilers, Ripperda, Melton, Cory Brown, Tom Stone, Schmitt, Dale Laird, Dennis Wernle, Chuck Goodman, Lenny Garson, Mark Pfluger, Curt Loddeke, Beard, Smallwood, Jon Huegen, Dan Ricklefs, Jr, and Allan Geiseking.

The UMP Street Stock division had 23 cars. The night belonged to Brad Venhaus who swept the division. He took the first heat over Dennis Ponder, Brian Crawford, and Zach Hoffman. Second heat winner was TJ Eilers, then Stephen Fohne, Jeff Buss, and Jake Hewitt. Third heat saw Kenny Landolt beat out Michael Ripperda, Jr, Jordan Bauer, and Justin Leichsenring. Brad Venhaus took his third win of the season in the Feature. Order of finish behind him was Eilers, Zach Hoffman, Ponder, Ripperda, Jr, Crawford, Bauer, Hewitt, Larry Smith, Jr, Fohne, Bill Austin, Fred Sparks, Tim Koch, Jacob Steinkoenig, Steve Stonecipher, Cody Johnson, Chad Huegen, Billy Kruep, James Kruep, Landolt, Leichsenring, Jeff Buss, and Bruce Turner.

Twenty-four racers wanted to take the checkered flag in the Feature in the UMP Factory Stock division. It was Rob Shaw who took the first and last flag of the division. He started off by winning the first heat over Trevor Isaak, Eldon Hemken, and Bob Zbinden. Second heat went to Travis Horner, then Josh James, Jacob Rexing, and Eddie Sterns. Third heat saw Austin Isaak lead Jason Schmidt, Jordan Suhre, and Brian Murphy. It was first time Feature winner, Rob Shaw, who came in first. Order of finish behind him was Austin Isaak, Trevor Isaak, Jordan Suhre, Schmidt, Murphy, Zbinden, Horner, Justin Suhre, Eldon Hemken, Jon Easley, Willy Myers, Sterns, Cale Hartnagel, Shea Gagne, Kurt Hager, Craig Monk, Cody Ventimiglia, Lacey Egbert, Ryan Emig, David Lisac, Rexing, Bobby Funderburk DQ, and Josh James DNS.

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.