U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


August 22, 2009 News Article

Saturday, August 22nd, was the night that the Midwest Monster series rolled into the Highland Speedway. Fastest qualifier in the 24 UMP Late Model division was Randy Korte. Korte went on to win the first heat leading Chad Zobrist, Michael Kloos, and Eric Smith. Second heat saw Mark Fuast take the lead over Jason Feger, Paul Bailey, and Rodney Melvin. Third heat went to Ryan Unzicker then Frankie Martin, Donny Walden, and Jason Zobrist. It was a battle in the 40 lap Feature. Coming out on top was Jason Feger. Order of finish behind Feger in the Feature was Korte, Chad Zobrist, Martin, Unzicker, Smith, Melvin, Rick Salter, Walden, John Cory, Mark Oller, Faust, Jason Zobrist, Mike Schulte, John Beck, Marty Smith, Jr, Michael Jacober, Paul Bailey, Brent Helmkamp, Kloos, Dave Thornton, Kerry Gaultney, Dick Taylor, and Steve Leach.

There were 21 UMP Modifieds. It was Andy Oswald who took the first checkered flag in the division. He won the first heat over Robbie Eilers, Roger Fohne, and Chris Smith. Second heat top dog was Jim Werner, Jr, Steve Ellison, Dean Hoffman, and Mike Haas. Third heat saw Ron Hartnagel lead Marty Smith, Jr, Jay Ledford, and Paul Becker. Steve Ellison raced to the win in the dash leading Eilers, Werner, Jr, and Smith, Jr. Robbie Eilers took his third checkered flag of the season in the Feature. He was chased by Werner, Jr, Hoffman, Ledford, Chris Smith, Chad Sellers, Ellison, Smiht, Jr, Steve Lach, Haas, Hartnagel, Eric Faust, Eric Goetter, Tyler Deibert, Fohne, Paul Becker, Mike Linsky, Oswald, Bub Wilcox, Shannon Kuhn, and Leon Price Jr.

Nineteen UMP Sportsman drivers wanted to race to the win. First one to cross the finish line in the first heat was Russell Eilers. Following him were Rick Johnson, Greg Spencer, and Tory Ernst. Second heat went to the driver who brought his broom with him to the track. It was Rob Lee who won the second heat over Jon Ripperda, Aaron Melton, and Danny Beard. Third heat winner was Jimmy Cummins who beat out Allan Geisenking, Bryan Slover, and Jimmy Miller. Trying to overtake Lee in the dash were Cummins, Ripperda, and Johnson. Finishing his sweep of the evening in the Feature was Rob Lee who crossed the finish line first. Order of finish after him was Cummins, Russell Eilers, Ryan Eilers, Ripperda, Johnson, Melton Spencer, Slover, Ernst, Mark Bohnenstiehl, Lenny Garson, Josh Case, Danny Beard, Dan Ricklefs, Jr, Geisenking, Casper, Jon Huegen, and Jimmy Miller DNS.

The Street Stock division had 23 cars. It was TJ Eilers who led off the division by taking the first heat win over Larry Smith, Jr, Dennis Ponder, and AJ Cline. Second heat went to Billy Kruep who was chased by Stephen Fohne, Darin Patton, and Jordan Bauer. The third heat saw Jake Hewitt take the lead over Michael Ripperda, Jr, Justin Leichsenring, and Jeff Buss. Consi order of finish was Pete Cory, Brad Venhaus, Creg Cannon, Vince Pratt, Marcus Kruep, Brian Crawford, Jason Schmidt, and Brian Meyer. The Feature will be run on August 29th.

The highest car count of the evening was the UMP Factory Stock division of 24 cars. First heat win went to Sean Denison who beat out Jason Suhre, Aaron Wood, and Nick Knebel. Second heat saw another racer that brought his broom with him to the track. It was Rob Shaw who took the second heat win by leading Austin Isaak, Justin Shaw, and Trevor Isaak. Third heat had Matt Hamblin take the checkered flag and chased by Jordan Suhre, Travis Horner, and Jeremy Izard. Consi order of finish was Dale Bohnensiehl, Jeo Swip, Eddie Sterns, Kyle Swip, Lacey Egbert, Brent Trame, Cody Ventimiglia, Tracy VonRohr DNS, and Justin Suhre DNS.

Taking his second checkered flag of the evening and his first of the season in the Feature was Rob Shaw. Racing to the finish line behind him were Denison, Hamblin, Austin Isaak, Jordan Suhre, Jason Sure, Knebel, Aaron Wood, Trevor Isaak, Stersn, Scott Egnert, Bohnenstiehl, Joe Swip, Izard, John Cory, Dhea Gagne, Justin Shaw, Travis Horner, Kyle Swip, and Lacey Egbert.

Also in attendance was the Kidz Mods. These are kids who are just starting out their racing careers. The order of finish in the heat was Jake Griffin, Heidi Goodman, Blake Vinson, Logan Moody, Kyle Hammer, Jeffery Ledford, and Kimberly Abbott. The Feature saw Heidi Goodman take the checkered flag over Vinson, Hammer, Griffin, Moody, Abbott, and Ledford.

Saturday, August 29th, will see the return of the Crate Late Models to the Highland Speedway. They will hot lap at 5:05 pm before the regular show starts. It will also be the third annual BIG Jr Fan Club Giveaway. The drivers, sponsors, and fans have donated prizes to the kids. Every kid who comes to the races on the 29th will leave with a prize. There will also be a quarter race for the kids. September 5th is the championship night for all divisions. Check out the website, www.highlandspeedway.com for more details.

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.