U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


August 15th, 2009 News Articles

Saturday, August 15th, was Senior Citizen night at the Highland Speedway. Leading off the night was the UMP Pro Late Models who made their first visit to the Highland Speedway. There were 11 crates that came ready to race. Heat one was won by Mark Oller who led Daniel Heck, Bobby Dauderman, and Justin Vosholller. Heat two top dog was Aaron Heck who beat out Chad Zobrist, Jason Zobrist, and Matt Santel. Bobby Dauderman took the checkered flag in the Feature and order of finish behind him was Daniel Heck, Jason Zobrist, Chad Zobrist, Vosholler, Santel, Aaron Heck, Brandon Moss, Garrett Britton, Oller, and Ryan Seger.

Next up was the UMP Sportsman division of 18 cars. Taking the first heat win was Jon Ripperda who crossed the finish lline ahead of Rob Lee, Aaron Melton, and Nathan Schmitt. Dominating the rest of the evening in this division was the Eilers brothers. Ryan Eilers took the flag in the second heat, then Bryan Slover, Mark Bohnenstiehl, and Danny Beard. It was his brother, Russell, who took the third heat over Allan Geiseking, Greg Spencer, and Tory Ernst. However this night it was Ryan who brought his broom with him. He took the dash win leading Lee, Ripperda, and Slover. Ryan took his third win of the season in the Feature and chasing him was Russell Eilers, Ripperda, Spencer, Melton, Ernst, Rick Johnson, Bohnenstiehl, Jimmy Miller, Slover, Chris Lafferty, Lenny Garson, Lee, Josh Case, Danny Beard, Tony Hunter, Geiseking, and Nathan Schmitt.

The UMP Late Model division of 21 cars was next. It was the Trenton Tornado, Michael Kloos, who took the first heat win over Clay Baumann, Paul Bailey, and Marty Smith, Jr. Second heat winner was the Highland Bulldog, Chad Zobrist, who beat out Mark Faust, Steven Unterbrink, and John Beck. Third heat went to the winner, Kevin Cole, then Frankie Martin, Rick Salter, and Dave Thornton. The dash belonged to Mark Faust who raced ahead of Bailey, Martin, and Kloos. For the fifth time this season it was Chad Zobrist who took the checkered flag in the Feature. He was chased by Cole, Faust, Kloos, Bailey, Martin, Smith, Jr, Salter, Unterbrink, Thornton, Kerry Gaultney, John Cory, Miek Schulte, Shannon Kuhn, Beck, Brent Helmkamp, Steve Leach, Randy Bingham, Danny Ripperda, Micheal Jacober, and Baumann.

The Steve Schmitt Modifieds also had 21 racers. It was the Racing Realtor, Chad Sellers, who took the first heat win over Tyler Deibert, Robbie Eilers, and Roger Fohne. Second heat win went to Jim Werner, Jr, then Chris Smith, Tyler Blankenship, and Andy Oswald. Third heat winner was Dean Hoffman who beat out Ron Hartnagel, Eric Goetter, and Steven Ellison. The dash saw Chris Smith take the lead over Deibert, Werner, Jr, and Hartnagel. For the fifth time this season, Chris Smith took the checkered flag in the Feature. He was chased by Werner, Jr, Hoffman, Deibert, Sellers, Ellison, Eilers, Hartnagel, Oswald, Brett Korves, Steve Lach, Blankenship, Eric Goetter, Roger Fohne, Eric Faust, Travis Koehler, Paul Becker, Dave McDougal , Karl Hartung, Stephen Plog, and Mike Linsky.

The Street Stock division of 25 cars had one driver who brought his broom along. It was Dennis Ponder who took his fourth Feature win of the season. He also led off the division by winning the first heat over Kory Riegel, Brad Venhaus, and Jake Hewitt. Second heat saw Jordan Bauer take the win leading Pete Cory, Jeff Buss, and Stephen Fohne. Third heat had Michael Ripperda, Jr beating out Larry Smith, Jr, Terry McCann, and Jeremy Pate. Order of finish in the Consi was Justin Leichsenring, AJ Cline, Stephen Flannery, Jr, Vince Pratt, Michael Leichsenring, Bill Austin, James Rhoades, Jr, Billy Kruep, Marcus Kruep, and Zach Hoffman.  Chasing the leader, Ponder, in the Feature was Bauer, Ripperda, Jr, Riegel, Smith, Jr, Venhaus, Buss, Fohne, McCann, Cory, Flannery, Jr, Jake Hewitt, Cline, Casey Crane, Pate, TJ Eilers, Justin Leichsenring, Pratt, and Luke Hewitt.

There were also 25 UMP Factory Stock drivers who wanted to take the trophy in the Feature. However, there was one driver who brought his broom and swept his division. That was Justin Suhre who took his third trophy of the season in the Feature.  Justin led off his night by taking the win in the first heat over Matt Hamblin, Austin Isaak, and Scott Egbert. Seond heat had Trevor Isaak take the lead, then Jordan Suhre, Tracy VonRohr, and Willy Myers. Third heat had Bob Zbinden win over Jason Suhre, Charlie Durbin, and Eddie Sterns. Chasing Justin Suhre in the Feature was Zbinden, Jordan Suhre, Austin Isaak, Trevor Isaak, Jason Suhre, VonRohr, Myers, Scott Egbert, Sterns, Dale Bohnenstiehl, Kyle Swip, Nick Knebel, Travis Horner, Sean Denison, Andy Hellmann, Shea Gagne, Rick Vivanio, Jason Hamby, Brent Trame, Cody Ventimiglia, Lacey Egbert, Charlie Durbin DNS, Matt Hambliln DNS, and Ryan Emig DNS.

Next Saturday, August 22nd, the Highland Speedway will welcome the Monster Midwest Series for the UMP Late Models. The following Saturday, August 29th, will be the third annual BIG Giveaway for the Jr Fan Club. Each child under 12 will go home with prizes. There will also be a nickel race. Check out the website, www.highlandspeedway.com.


Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.