U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


June 27, 2009 News Article

Saturday night, June 27th, was the Mid Season Championships at the Highland Speedway. There were 16 UMP Late Models who wanted to win. It was the silver fox, Brent Helmkamp, who took the first heat win over Michael Kloos, Steven Unterbrink, and Kerry Gaultney. Second heat went to Paul Bailey over Mike Schulte, Danny Ripperda, and John Beck. The dash saw Kloos take the lead over Bailey, Unterbrink, and Brent Helmkamp. It was the Trenton tornado who took his third checkered flag of the season in the Feature. Chasing Michael Kloos was Chad Zobrist, Steven Unterbrink, Mike Schulte, John Beck, Shannon Kuhn, Kerry Gaultney, Danny Ripperda, Michael Jacober, Justin Vosholler, Paul Bailey, Brent Helmkamp, Steve Stevenson, Steve Leach, Jason Zobrist, and DNS Frankie Martin.

There were 18 Steve Schmitt Modifieds on hand. It was Scott Weber who took the win in the first heat over Dean Hoffman, Jesse Wisely, and Jim Werner, Jr. Second heat went to Steve Ellison then Eric Goetter, Mike Linskey, and Steve Lach. Third heat top dog was Chad Sellers who was chased by Robbie Eilers, Chris Smith, and Roger Fohne. The dash saw Dean Hoffman beat out Eilers, Sellers, and Ellison. It was Robbie Eilers who decided that he liked the checkered flag and captured it again for his second Feature win of the season. Order of finish behind Eilers was Sellers, Hoffman, Werner, Jr, Smith, Ellison, Goetter, Lach, Tyler Deibert, Weber, Ron Hartnagel, Paul Becker, Roger Fohne, Andy Oswald, Randy Meyers, Linskey, and DNS Travis Koehler.

The UMP Sportsman had 17 drivers. But it was Russell Eilers who brought his broom with him to the track. He started off by winning the first heat over Rob Lee, Aaron Melton, and Tory Ernst. Second heat went to Greg Spencer over Mark Bohnenstiehl, Jim Lafferty, and Rick Johnson. Then in the dash, it was Lee, Lafferty and Bohnenstiehl who were chasing Russell for the win. For the ninth time this season, Russell Eilers crossed the finish line first in the Feature. Order of finish after him was Bohnenstiehl, Lafferty, Melton, Spencer, Ryan Eilers, Ernst, Allan Geiseking, John Cooper, Lee, Johnson, Dan Ricklefs, Jr, Jon Huegen, Billy Knebel, Jr, Bryan Slover, Jimmy Miller, and DNS Bill Felchlin.

The Street Stocks had 22 cars. However, the night belonged to rookie Jordan Bauer. He started off his evening by winning the first heat over Stephen Fohne, Bobby Dees, Jr, and Kory Riegel. Second heat had Dennis Ponder take the lead over Michael Ripperda, Jr, Brad Venhaus, and Zach Hoffman. Third heat saw TJ Eilers lead Adam Pate, Billy Kruep, and Jeff Buss. Consi order of finish was Jake Hewitt, Buddy Love, Pte Cory, AJ Cline, Vince Pratt, James Rhoades, Jr., and Marcus Kruep. Taking his first chekered flag of the season in the Feature was Jordan Bauer. He was chased by Ripperda, Jr, Ponder, Venhaus, Fohne, Hewitt, Bobby Dees, Jr, Billy Krkuep, Pate, Riegel, Terry McCann, Stephen Flannery, Jr, Cline, Pete Cory, Hoffman, Larry Smith, Jr, Love, Vince Pratt, Eielrs, and Buss.

The UMP Factory Stock had the highest car count of the evening with 24. Starting off the division by winning the first heat was Justin Suhre who led Travis Horner, Tracy VonRohr, and Willy Myers. Second heat saw Bob Zbinden defeat Charlie Durbin, Josh James, and Sean Denison. Third heat saw Nick Knebel win over Jason Schmidt, Jordan Suhre, and Dale Bohnenstiehl.Consi finish line up was Jason Suhre, Jeremy Izard, Eddie Sterns, Trevor Isaak, Austin Isaak, Tristan Wentler, Rick Viviano, Kyle Swip, and Lacey Egbert.  For the 7th time this season, it was Bob Zbinden who took the checkered flag in the Feature. Order of finish after him was Justin Suhre, Schmidt, Durbin, Knebel, VonRohr, Jordan Suhre, Jason Suhre, Matt Hamblin, Horner, Denison, Bohnenstiehl, Austin Isaak, Trevor Isaak, Scott Egbert, Ryan Emig, Izard, Myers, Josh James, and Sterns.

No races on Saturday, July 4th, so everyone can enjoy the holiday weekend. On Saturday, July 11, will be Grapperhaus Night of Destruction. There will be a roll over contest during intermission. Check out our website www.highlandspeedway.com for more information.

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.