U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


June 6, 2009 News Article

Saturday, June 6th, was a flashback to the seventies.  It was 70’s night at the Highland Speedway. There was a costume contest that was won by two persons – Cow Bell and Elvis. These two winners donated part of their winnings toward a hard charger for the UMP Late Models. The hard charger money went to Rick Standridge. There were 25 drivers that were eligible for the award in the division. However the night turned out to belong to Mark Faust, who brought his broom. Mark started his sweep by winning the first heat over Paul Bailey, Danny Ripperda, and Chad Zobrist. Second heat went to Michael Kloos over Brian Bielong, John Cory, and Brent Helmkamp. Third heat saw Mike Schulte lead Justin Ketrow, Dan Jacober, and Steve Leach. The dash order of finish was Faust, Kloos, Schulte, and Bielong. It was Dave Thornton who took the checkered flag in the consi. He was followed by Jason Zobrist, Rick Standridge, Michael Jacober, Marc McClintock, Kerry Gaultney, Bruce Unterbrink, Randy Bingham, Justin Vosholler, and Lenny Garson. Trying to beat Mark Faust in the Feature was Bailey, Kloos, Ketrow, Dan Jacober, Schulte, Cory, Standridge, Frankie Martin, Chad Zobrist, Steve Lech, Michael Jacober, Ripperda, Helmkamp, Marty Smith, Jr, Bielong, Jason Zobrist, Shannon Kuhn, Thornton, and McClintock.

The Steve Schmitt Modified division had 21 cars. Starting off the division with the first win was Chris Smith who took the first heat over Jim Werner, Jr, Chad Sellers, and Richie Standridge. Second heat went to Tyler Deibert, then Mike Harrison, Andy Oswald, and Brent Keyes. Third heat had Robbie Eilers lead Ron Hartnagel, Craig Kern, and Roger Fohne. The dash had Werner, Jr take the lead over Harrison Smith, and Hartnagel. It was Jim Werner, Jr who took his third Feature win of the season. He beat out Deibert, Smith, Kern, Standridge, Sellers, Eilers, Hartnagel, Paul Becker, Eric Goetter, Fohne, Steve Lach, Brent Keyes, Aaron Muller, Oswald, Harrison, Steve Ellison, Jesse Wisely, Stephen Plog, Joe Hauck, and Dean Hoffman DNS.

Nineteen cars battled in the UMP Sportsman division. First winner in the first heat was Toory Ernst. He beat out Rick Johnson, Ryan Eilers, and Aaron Melton. Second heat winner Russell Eilers led Andy Casper, Adam Haas, and Bryan Slover. Third heat winner was Greg Spencer over Allan Geiseking, Justin Durbin, and Rob Lee. The dash saw Gerg Spencer take the checkered flag, then Johnson, Casper, and Russell Eilers. It was Russell Eilers who took his fifth straight Feature win and his eighth of the season. He was chased by Spencer, Johnson, Ernst, Haas, Ryan Eilers, Rob Lee, Casper, Stu Springer, Mark Bohnenstiehl, Geiseking, Josh Case, Melton, Bryan Slover, Dan Ricklefs, Jr, Durbin, Danny Beard, and Jon Ripperda.

There were 24 cars in the StreetStock division. First heat winner was Stephen Fohne over Dennis Ponder, Ricky Breakfield, and Jeff Buss. Second heat went to Jeake Hewitt, then Brad Venhaus, Michael Ripperda, Jr, and Jordan Bauer. Third heat saw AJ Cline lead TJ Eilers, Chris Sale, and Dusty Sampson. Consi order of finish was Marcus Kruep, Terry McCann, Billy Kruep, Keith Flannery, Kory Reigel, Justin Leichsenring, James Rhoades, Jr, Vince Pratt, and Pat Harper. Jake Hewitt took his first Feature win of the season. He was chased by Ponder, Eilers, Cline, Venhaus, Ripperda, Jr, Fohne, Sale, Bauer, Sampson, Bobby Dees, Jr, Buss, McCann, Stephen Flannery, Jr, Keith Flannery, Marcus Kruep, Kory Reigel, Ricky Breakfield, Shaun Horstmann, and Billy Kruep.

The UMP Factory Stock division had 25 cars. First heat winner was Tracy VonRohr, then Pete Cory, Trevor Isaak, and Dan Dodson. Second heat winner was Austin Isaak, who was followed by Jordan Suhre, Charlie Durbin, and Matt Hamblin, Third heat saw Justin Suhre take the lead over Joe Swip, Eddie Sterns, and Justin Shaw. There was another new Feature winner – Pete Cory. Pete crossed the finish line first then Swip, Jordan Suhre, Hamblin, Durbin, Trevor Isaak, Dodson, Sterns, Justin Shaw, Jeremy Izard, Jason Suhre, Justin Hall, Sean Denison, Travis Horner, Scott Egbert, Tom Eilers, Nick Knebel, Dale Bohnenstiehl, Justin Suhre, Tristan Wentler, Rick Viviano, Austin Isaak, Tracy Von Rohr, Lacey Egbert, DNS, and Aaron Wood DNS.

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.