U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


May 9, 2009 News Article

Saturday, May 9th, there were 127 drivers who wanted to go home with the Feature trophy. It was the Steve Schmitt Modified division of 22 cars that led off the night. It was Robbie Eilers who took the first checkered flag of the evening in the first heat. He was chased by Chad Sellers, Eric Goetter, and Brett Korves. Second heat belonged to Steven Ellison over Steve lach, Mark Leuck, and Marty Smith,  Jr. Dean Hoffman took top honors in the third heat, then Joe Dresch, Chris Smith, and Roger Fohne. Dash winner was Steve Lach who beat out Hoffman, Ellison and Eilers. It was Robbie Eilers who decided that one checkered flag of the evening was not enough. He took the flag in the Feature. Behind him were Smith, Korves, Elllison, Sellers, Leach, Goetter, Jim Werner, Jr, Leuck, Ryan Driemeyer, Fohne, Tyler Deibert, Ron Hartnagel, Matt Acord, Andy Oswald, Jesse Wisely, Aaron Muller, Smith, Jr, Paul Becker, Hoffman, Dresch, and Aaron Kleine DNS.

Next up was the UMP Sportsman division of 23 cars. It was Justin Durbin who led the pack in the first heat. He was chased by Tory Ernst, Ryan Eilers, and Rob Lee. Second heat went to Greg Spencer, then Andy Casper, Mark Bohnenstiehl, and Jimmy Cummins. Third heat saw Russell Eilers flash ahead of Stu Springer, Nathan Schmitt, and Bryan Slover. It was Stu Springer who raced ahead in the dash. He was followed by Ernst, Russell Eilers, and Durbin. The Consi saw Aaron Melton surge ahead of Jon Ripperda, Danny Beard, Jon Huegen, Dan Ricklefs, Jr, Bob Simpson, Jim Lafferty DNS, and Josh Case DNS.  For the second time of the evening, it was an Eilers who decided that one checkered flag would not do. It was Russell Eilers who took the flag in the Feature. Eilers was chased by  Ernst, Durbin, Spencer, Springer, Bohnenstiehl, Schmitt, Ryan Eilers, Lee, Rick Johnson, Slover, Melton, Beard, Jeff Nash, Allan Geiseking, Cummins, Casper, and Ripperda.

The UMP Late Model division had 18 cars. The first winner in the division was Paul Bailey who took the first heat over Chad Zobrist, Mark Oller, and Marty Smith, Jr. Second heat went to Brent Helmakmp, then Aaron Kleine, Michael Kloos, and Kerry Gaultney. Third heat saw Mike Schulte beat out Frankie Martin, Mark Faust, and Michael Jacober. The dash winner was Chad Zobrist. He was chased by Martin, Kleine, and Bailey. The Feature order of finish was Chad Zobrist, Bailey, Martin, Faust, Dan Jacober, Helmkamp, Kleine, Kloos, Gaultney, Oller, Smith, Jr, Schulte, Michael Jacober, Steve Leach, John Cory, Tyler Deibert, Jason Zobrist, and Brian Bielong DNS.

Again the division with the hightest car count was the UMP Factory Stock with 38 cars. It was Bob Zbinden who took the top honor in the first heat. He led Charlie Durbin, Sean Denison, and Travis Horner. Second heat belonged to Ryan Emig who beat out Justin Hall, Eddie Sterns, and Loran Garrison. Third heat top dog was Josh James who was chased by Matt Hamblin, Justin Suhre, and Austin Isaak. The fourth heat had winner Nick Knebel leading Justin Shaw, Tracy VonRohr, and Joe Joyce. The first consi saw Jon Easley beat out Robert Shaw, Jordan Suhre, Jason Suhre, Jeremy Izard, Mike Bourland, Billy Jackson, Ed Martiszus, Willy Myers, Dale Bohnenstiehl DNS, and Tristan Wentler DNA. The second consi had Shawn McCall take the lead over Joe Ilberry, Tony Stinde, Trevor Isaak, Joe Seip, Scott Egbert, Roger Bolyard, Rick Viviano, Kyle Swip, Vince Shehorn DNS, and Chris Rakers DNS.  It was a repeat winner again in the Feature. This time it was Bob Zbinden who took the checkered flag for the second time. He was followed by Hamblin, James, Denison, Justin Suhre, Justin Shaw, Knebel, Sterns, Emig, Austin Isaak, Jordan Suhre, Durbi, Easley, Hall, Horner, Joyce, McCall, Ilberry, Garrison, and VonRohr.

The last division was the 26 car Street Stock division. This time it was Terry McCann who took the first checkered flag. He won the first heat over Jake Hewitt, Billy Kruep, and Brad Venhaus. Second heat saw TJ Eilers lead the pack. He was followed by Larry Smith, Jr, Steve Leach, and Michael Riperda, Jr. Third heat had AJ Cline finish ahead of Jason Nash, Richie Gabriel, and Brian Crawford. It was Jeremy Pate who drove across the finish line first in the Consi. He led Bobby Dees, Jr, Stephen Fohne, Jeff Buss, Keith Flannery, Brian Meyer, Justin Leichsenring, James Rhoades, Jr, Jordan  Bauer DNS, Stepehn Flannery, Jr DNS, and Pat Harper DNS. Terry McCann liked crossing the finish line first so much, that he did it again in the Feature. Order of finish behind McCann was Cline, Hewitt, Smith, Jr, Billy Kruep, Venhaus, Dees, Jr, Pate, Gabriel, Nash, Dennis Ponder, Stephen Fohne, Chuck Warren, Leach, Ripperda, Jr, Tommy Gegg, TJ Eilers, and Brian Crawford.

Next Saturday, May 16th, will be a big night for kids. It is the Mega Bike Giveaway. Children 11 and under will get another chance to take home a bike from the races. There will be numerous bikes given away at intermission. Kids can sign up to win the bikes at the Jr Fan Club table behind the ticket booth. Various drivers and area businesses are donating the bikes.

Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.