U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


April 11, 2009 News Article

Saturday, April 11th, saw the largest car count of the season at the Highland Speedway – 124 cars. It was the defending UMP Late Model champion, Brian Bielong, who took the first checkered flag in the 20 car division. He won the first heat over Mike Jacober, DJ Cygan, and Vince Grondzki.  Second heat winner was Chad Zobrist who beat out Dick Taylor, Jason Zobrist, and Danny Ripperda. Third heat top dog was Mike Schulte, then Paul Bailey, Aaron Kleine, and Shannon Kuhn. Dick Taylor crossed the finish line first in the dash leading Bielong, Bailey and Jacober. It was an exciting Feature race, but it was Paul Bailey who got the checkered flag first. Chasing him were Taylor, Schulte, Clay Baumann, Kerry Gaultney, DJ Cygan, Jason Zobrist, Ryan Driemeyer, Brent Helmkamp, Dave Thornton, Jacober, Steve Leach, Brett Cygan, Shannon Kuhn, Bielong, Kleine, Chad Zobrist, Grondzki, Ripperda, and Mike Harris.

The Steve Schmitt Modifieds had 23 cars that were ready to race. Chad Sellers took the first heat race over Craig Kern, Dean Hoffman, and Matt Acord. Second heat winner was Mike Harrison, then Chris Smith, Steven Ellison, and Andy Oswald. Third heat went to Aaron Kleine who was chased by Jim Werner, Jr, Steve Stotler, and Roger Fohne. Dash order of finish was Kleine, Werner, Jr, Harrison and Smith. The Consi saw Robbie Eilers take first leading Cody Stilwell, Brett Korves, Tyler Deibert, Mike Haas, Ron Hartnagel, Travis Koehler, and Jesse Wisely DNS. Another great Feature race in the Modifieds saw Jim Werner, Jr take the checkered flag. He led Harrison, Kleine, Sellers, Smith, Andy Oswald, Kern, Eilers, Ellison, Matt Acord, Stilwell, Steve Lach, Paul Becker, Fohne, Korves, Stotler, Hoffman, Eric Goetter.

The UMP Sportsman division also had 23 cars. First heat winner was Jimmy Cummins who raced ahead of Bryan Slover, Ryan Eilers, and Rick Johnson. Second heat had Andy Casper lead Justin Durbin, Adam Haas, and Allan Geiseking.  The third heat saw Rob Lee beat out Russell Eilers, Aaron Melton, and Jim Lafferty. Andy Casper took his second checkered flag of the evening in the dash. He was chased by Russell Eilers, Slover, and Lee. Greg Spenser was the fastest in the Consi then Mark Bohnenstiehl, Jon Ripperda, Tory Ernst, Danny Beard, Jon Huegen, Dan Ricklefs, Jr and Jeff Nash. Russell Eilers took his second Feature win of the season. He led Lee, Cummins, Durbi, Slover, Ryan Eilers, Lafferty, Geiseking, Spencer, Bobby Sillkwood, Nathan Schmitt, Scott Drew, Aaron Melton, Ripperda, Haas, Casper, Johnson and Bohnenstiehl.

Twenty seven Street Stock drivers showed up to go racing. Heat one was won by Bobby Dees, Jr over Jordan Bauer, AJ Cline, and Steve Leach. Heat two saw Ed Lenhardt beat out Brad Venhaus, TJ Eilers, and Stephen Fohne. Third heat saw Michael Ripperda, Jr lead Jake Hewitt, Terry McCann, and Andy Beavers. The Consi had Brian Crawford taking the checkered flag, then Tommy Gegg, John Cory, Kory Riegel, Larry Smith, Jr, Shaun Horstmann, Jeff Buss, Jeff Adcock, James Rhoades, Jr, Vince Pratt, Dusty Sampson, and Dennis Ponder. The fifith winner of the division was Brad Venhaus who took the Feature win. He was chased by Dees, Jr, Hewitt, McCann, Bauer, Leach, Cline, Eilers, Beavers, Billy Kruep, Crawford, Justin Leichsenring, Stephen Flannery, Jr, Gegg, Fohne, Lenhardt, Cory and Ripperda, Jr.

The highest car count of the night was in the UMP Factory division that had 31 cars. It was last week’s winner, Justin Suhre, who took the first checkered flag. He won the first heat over Matt Hamblin, Austin Isaak, and Jason Suhre. Second heat went to Dale Bohnenstiehl who led Steven Gorka, Jr, Jason Schmidt, and Robert Shaw. Bob Zbinden won the third heat over Sean Denison, Aaron Wood, and Eddie Sterns. Crossing the finish line first in the Consi was Chad Burgess. He led Jordan Suhre, Joe Swip, Josh James, Trevor Isaak, Tony Stinde, Tom Eilers, Charlie Duebin, Scott Egbert, Mike Bourland, Jeremy Izard, Travis Horner, Dan Dodson, Ed Martiszus, Rick Viviano, and Joe Joyce. It was Justin Suhre who swept his division for the second week by winning the Feature. He crossed the finish line ahead of Zbinden, Hamblin, Denison, Bohnenstiehl, Robert Shaw, Gorka, Jr, Justin Shaw, Schmidt, Jason Suhre, Wood, Austin Isaak, Tracy VonRohr, Sterns, Nick Knebel, Burgess, Swip, and Jordan Suhre. It was Highland Rural King night at the races and Jr Fan Club was officially started.  

Next Saturday it will be Steve Schmitt night at the races. Check out our website, www.highlandspeedway.com for more information.


Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.