U.M.P. DIRTcar Racing


April 4, 2009 News Article

Saturday, April 4th, was a great night to go racing. The weather was nice and the race fans were ready. Highland Speedway opened their 2009 season with 119 cars. Leading off the night was the UMP Late Model division with 21 cars. First heat winner of the season was John Beck. He was chased by Rick Salter, Mike Schulte, and Mike Jacober. Chad Zobrist started his sweep of the evening by taking the second heat win over Shannon Kuhn, Brent Helmkamp, and Danny Ripperda. Third heat order of finish was Matt Weidner, Michael Kloos, Paul Bailey, and Kevin Cole. The Highland Bulldog, Chad Zobrist, took his second checkered flag of the evening in the dash. Next were Beck, Kloos, and Kuhn.  It was a race to the finish in the Feature with Zobrist crossing the finish line ahead of Kloos, Bailey, Aaron Kleine, Beck, Schulte, Kuhn, Ryan Driemeyer, Helmkamp, Jacober, Cole, Weidner, Roy Simmons, Mitchell Lankford, Salter, Ripperda, Steve Leach DNS, Bob Geaschel DNS, and Frankie Martin DNS.

The Steve Schmitt Modifieds had 23 cars that came to win.  But the big winner won the first heat – Aaron Kleine. Kleine beat out Mike Harrison, Brett Korves, and Mark Leuck in the first heat. Second heat went to Jim Werner, Jr over Steve Ellison, Dean Hoffman, and Steve Stotler. The third heat saw Tyler Deibert charge ahead of Eric Goetter, Robbie Eilers, and Chad Sellers. Win number two of the evening for Kleine was in the dash. Chasing him were Goetter, Ellison and Harrison. The Consi had Cody Stillwell being chased by Matt Acord, Ed Lenhardt, Ron Hartnagel, Paul Becker, Craig Kern, and Rocky Berliew.  Finishing his sweep by taking the checkered flag in the Feature was Aaron Kleine. Trying to pass him were Goetter, Werner, Jr, Ellison, Harrison, Korves, Deibert, Hoffman, Eilers, Lenhardt, Roger Fohne, Leuck, Acord, Parker Williams, Jr, Stotler, Stillwell, Sellers, and Chris Smith.

The UMP Sportsman divison of 20 cars also had a driver who brought his broom. It was the first heat winner, Russell Eilers, who swept his division. The first heat saw him win over Andy Casper, Mark Bohnenstiehl, and Bryan Slover.  Second heat order of finish was Justin Durbin, Rick Johnson, Aaron Melton, and Jimmy Cummins. Trying to beat Eilers in the dash were Melton, Durbin, and Casper. Crossing the finish line after Russell Eilers in the Feature was Slover, Melton, Johnson, Rob Lee, Cummins, Joe Volluz, Jim Lafferty, Casper, Ryan Eilers, Allan Geiseking, Greg Spencer, Lenny Garson, Dan Ricklefs, Jr, Nathan Schmitt, Bobby Silkwood, Durbin, Bohnenstihel, and Jon Huegen DNS.

Twenty three racers were ready to take the checkered flag in the Street Stock division. Gene Crain started off by taking the first heat win over John Cory, Terry McCann, and TJ Eilers. Second heat went to Mike Ripperda, Jr who led Steve Leach, Brian Crawford, and Creg Cannon. Third heat top dog was Billy Kruep. He was chased by Brad Venhaus, Jordan Bauer, and Jeff Buss. Consi order of finish was Larry Smith, Jr, Jake Hewitt, Dwayne Bateman, Kory Riegel, Craig Monk, James Rhoades, Jr, and Dave Meyers DNS.  It was Mike Ripperda, Jr who decided one win of the evening was not enough. He flashed by the finish line and took the Feature win. Following him were Cory, Venhaus, Crian, McCann, TJ Eilers, Steven Flannery, Jr, Bauer, Stephen Fohne, Smith, Jr, Bateman, Kruep, Leach, Buss, Dusty Sampson, and Crawford.

The UMP Factory Stock had 32 drivers who were ready for the racing season to begin. It was Justin Suhre who took the first checkered flag in the first heat. He was followed by Rob Shaw, Aaron Wood, and Tracy VonRohr. Second heat saw Austin Isaak take the flag then Nick Knebel, Chad Burgess, and Justin Shaw. Sean Denison took the lead in the third heat. Trying to catch him were Charlie Durbin, Dan Dodson, and Jason Suhre. Consi line up was Jordan Shure, Trevor Isaak, Vince Shehorn, Joe Joyce, Tom Eilers, Travis Horner, Jeremy Izard, Mike Howell, Justin Hall, Ted Romaine, Eddie Sterns, Chris Rakers, Rick Vivanio, Joe Delozier, Kyle Swip, Marcus Kruep DNS, and Tony Stinde DNS. The Feature saw another repeat winner who buzzed by the finish line first. It was Justin Suhre with his second win of the evening. He led Rob Shaw, Knebel, Durbin, Denison, Austin Isaak, Wood, Justin Shaw, Burgess, VonRohr, Bob Zbinden, Jason Suhre, Trevor Isaak, Dodson, Jordan Suhre, Shehorn, Dale Bohnenstiehl, and Mike Bourland.

It was The Rock 97.5 night at the races. Next Saturday will be Highland Rural King night. Please check out our website www.highlandspeedway.com for further information. Grandstand gate opens at 5:00 pm.


Track Guidelines

Highland Speedway reserves the right to refuse admittance to anyone.

Drivers must be 14 years of age to race at the Highland Speedway. Drivers 14 and under must have permission from the track to race in the DIRTcar UMP Late Model, DIRTcar UMP Modified,  DIRTcar UMP SportMod division and DIRTcar UMP Street Stock division.

Minor drivers must have BOTH parents or legal guardians sign a minor release form for the driver to enter the race track. Minor drivers will sign the minor form each week during sign in at the pit shack. 

Each driver must enter their car to race every night. Every car that races must have a pit pass for the driver.